Unknown2005-04-21 17:25:54
I've got the automapper working for Lusternia, quite well. I've had it working for a while. But there are a number of things that I just can't figure out.
1) (Auto?)Mapping oceans/mountains of madness/similar "move-you-all-over" places. How?
2) Autocolouring rooms based on survey'ing and the environment type.
3) Cows. Right now I've got a trigger that sets up an alarm to step shortly after getting knocked offbalance, but I think I may just need to revamp how I autowalk.
Also, as an aside.. To anyone who has essentially every area mapped... What's your room count excluding underwater in the seas, the mountains of madness, plane of water/earth, and a few segments of nil/celestia(the passages to Elohora/Luciphage), and what's your overall final tally?
Thanks
1) (Auto?)Mapping oceans/mountains of madness/similar "move-you-all-over" places. How?
2) Autocolouring rooms based on survey'ing and the environment type.
3) Cows. Right now I've got a trigger that sets up an alarm to step shortly after getting knocked offbalance, but I think I may just need to revamp how I autowalk.
Also, as an aside.. To anyone who has essentially every area mapped... What's your room count excluding underwater in the seas, the mountains of madness, plane of water/earth, and a few segments of nil/celestia(the passages to Elohora/Luciphage), and what's your overall final tally?
Thanks
Gregori2005-04-25 13:46:00
ok this is what I use for autocolouring shrine locations
This example is Lisae shrines, but you can trigger it to work on which ever text you
really want.
#TRIGGER {Wreathed about in vines, a large altar} {#MENU {Mapper|File|Map|Creation Mode};#CALL %roomnote(,Shrine to Lisaera);#CALL %roomcol(,white);#MENU {Mapper|File|Follow Mode}}
What this does is on the text trigger, it turns the mapper to map mode, colours the room white on the map, and adds the note Shrine to Lisaera in the notes section for the room, then turn the mapper back to follow mode.
This example is Lisae shrines, but you can trigger it to work on which ever text you
really want.
CODE
#TRIGGER {Wreathed about in vines, a large altar} {#MENU {Mapper|File|Map|Creation Mode};#CALL %roomnote(,Shrine to Lisaera);#CALL %roomcol(,white);#MENU {Mapper|File|Follow Mode}}
What this does is on the text trigger, it turns the mapper to map mode, colours the room white on the map, and adds the note Shrine to Lisaera in the notes section for the room, then turn the mapper back to follow mode.
Unknown2005-04-25 14:01:22
Instead of #CALL, use #NOOP. #CALL is for something else, and the #NOOP is for calling functions when you don't care about the return value (which is usually the case when doing mapping things like this).
I gave up mapping the Inner Sea for now. It's too much of a pain and the end result wouldn't buy me much, since all the rooms are the same and the #FIND feature wouldn't work to tell me which way the waves tossed me. At least on Earth, you can sorta figure out by room names and descriptions...
Room coloring is very easy.
Walking when you bump into a sheep or cow should just pause your speedwalk, "unconfirm" the last move, and then proceed with the speedwalk when you regain balance.
I gave up mapping the Inner Sea for now. It's too much of a pain and the end result wouldn't buy me much, since all the rooms are the same and the #FIND feature wouldn't work to tell me which way the waves tossed me. At least on Earth, you can sorta figure out by room names and descriptions...
Room coloring is very easy.
Walking when you bump into a sheep or cow should just pause your speedwalk, "unconfirm" the last move, and then proceed with the speedwalk when you regain balance.
Gwylifar2005-04-25 15:21:22
QUOTE(Gregori @ Apr 25 2005, 09:46 AM)
CODE
#MENU {Mapper|File|Map|Creation Mode}
More efficient and more robust to do:
#noop %maplocked( 0)
#noop %maplocked( 1)
Even better:
pMapLocked = %maplocked( )
#noop %maplocked( 0)
#noop %maplocked( @pMapLocked)
Drago2005-04-25 15:26:32
Ohh, on the topic of zmud mapper...
Does anyone know why the hell it would only have two window states - minimized and maximized? For some reason my zmud mapper refuses to go inbetween, resulting in me having to have a small game window over a big map (which I don't like, makes the map harder to read because important bits get covered).
I tried reinstalling, and reinstalling to a new directory.. but nothing works, so i've got a 7k+ room lusternia map for nothing (I was sooo going to get Planeswalker before Kaervas with my first char, except that I couldn't log on the sunday after lusternia first came out, so I missed it)
Does anyone know why the hell it would only have two window states - minimized and maximized? For some reason my zmud mapper refuses to go inbetween, resulting in me having to have a small game window over a big map (which I don't like, makes the map harder to read because important bits get covered).
I tried reinstalling, and reinstalling to a new directory.. but nothing works, so i've got a 7k+ room lusternia map for nothing (I was sooo going to get Planeswalker before Kaervas with my first char, except that I couldn't log on the sunday after lusternia first came out, so I missed it)
Unknown2005-04-25 15:28:17
I don't dock my automapper window, and I can resize it just fine. Make sure you don't hit the + button on the title bar, or you'll get a full screen window without it being maximized. Just undock it and resize at will.
Drago2005-04-25 15:32:06
*tests*
Drago2005-04-25 15:35:03
*tests*
Nah, that's not the problem. It physically isn't displaying the map if I make it resizeable.
Edit: Aha! No idea what the hell I did.. but it fixed it. *suck* I think I made it dockable, docked it, then moved it from where I docked it. *saves settings quickly*
Nah, that's not the problem. It physically isn't displaying the map if I make it resizeable.
Edit: Aha! No idea what the hell I did.. but it fixed it. *suck* I think I made it dockable, docked it, then moved it from where I docked it. *saves settings quickly*
Thorgal2005-04-25 15:58:47
I'm at 9322 rooms in my zmud map.
Though I'm not sure how accurate it is to make a new room, then checking the number. The mapfile is 40 megabytes large. I mapped every level of all the seas, but it was a bloody tedious job.
Though I'm not sure how accurate it is to make a new room, then checking the number. The mapfile is 40 megabytes large. I mapped every level of all the seas, but it was a bloody tedious job.
Unknown2005-04-25 17:00:24
If you had to merge stacked rooms or delete rooms and try again, your room count will be off, obviously. The size of the database means little, and I would say, in fact, that you can get that size (and the load time) down considerably by compacting your database.
Drago2005-04-26 02:28:10
Open the map and do #noop %mapfilter("");#EC %numrooms()
Shows you how many rooms you've got in the map.
Shows you how many rooms you've got in the map.
Thorgal2005-04-26 08:00:44
Ahh, 7400 rooms then.
Caffrey2005-04-27 22:23:52
hmmm total rooms in zmud, 6197.
So now I'm confused... Why is Thorgal getting a count of 7400 rooms?!
Either I've missed out a BIG area... or... there are duplicate areas in Thorgals maps.
My room count is based on putting a big selection box around every room and verified by opening the DB in access and looking at the rowcount of the ObjectTbl table.
There are no duplicates, and all areas in my zmud map are in the realm map on the website, because I used zmup mapper to do the area layouts. (yes i haven't got spirit plane yet, but glomdoring commune and the 3 dreamweaving thingies are in the next map update)
So, can someone tell me, based on the realm map on the web site, have I missed something big out?
A breakdown of the areas I have are as follows:
Total : 6197
Newbie : 374 (392 with newbie intro)
Seas on Prime : 1155
Prime (inc. newbie and seas) : 5576
When mapping the prime seas I used a combination of paper and pen, zmud mapper, and a lot of patience. But yeah, forget tracking your position. When I really lost track while mapping I headed for the sea edge as their easier to indentify and started over...
So now I'm confused... Why is Thorgal getting a count of 7400 rooms?!
Either I've missed out a BIG area... or... there are duplicate areas in Thorgals maps.
My room count is based on putting a big selection box around every room and verified by opening the DB in access and looking at the rowcount of the ObjectTbl table.
There are no duplicates, and all areas in my zmud map are in the realm map on the website, because I used zmup mapper to do the area layouts. (yes i haven't got spirit plane yet, but glomdoring commune and the 3 dreamweaving thingies are in the next map update)
So, can someone tell me, based on the realm map on the web site, have I missed something big out?
A breakdown of the areas I have are as follows:
Total : 6197
Newbie : 374 (392 with newbie intro)
Seas on Prime : 1155
Prime (inc. newbie and seas) : 5576
When mapping the prime seas I used a combination of paper and pen, zmud mapper, and a lot of patience. But yeah, forget tracking your position. When I really lost track while mapping I headed for the sea edge as their easier to indentify and started over...